Commonwealth Archery Benefits Society

In this post I am going to reveal something about my archery campaign that I hope that you will embrace with intelligence. I am a political activist and I have got my allies in government to accept archery as a sport worthy of the government’s attention. But I am not trying to politicise my campaign by allowing my friends to use it to push their own agenda. Although there may be some associations that may appear to  compromise the cause those affiliates will be able to see a useful application of the campaign.  This will give the Commonwealth Games Federation support from the member states to push their agenda and further their mission.

seb coe

Combining sport with politics is a controversial one. It has led to high profile incidents that can lead to repercussions that can undermine the beautiful game. Lord Sebastian Coe understand the conscientious reasons for mixing sport and politics as long as they are for the right reasons. Sport is a social issue that can be applied to a worthy cause. It is this social aspect of a sport that requires recognition as a political issue. It is a means to bring social change and promoting peace and goodwill in communities. As a political activist I am making archery a great and glorious sport that unites us by demonstrate just how much mental and physical strength the Commonwealth of nations has.

It is for the individual athlete to use his own instincts to justify his cause. That doesn’t depend entirely on egoism and passiveness, it depends on moral justification. I am using my political beliefs to improve the image of archery and it’s connections to the Commonwealth. It is my judgement that sport is a powerful force that be used to show the best abilities of the nation. When I started my campaign I had to not only convince the CGF that archery should be a core sport, but that it was a strong sport that could be used to the values of the Commonwealth Games in it’s mission of humanity, equality, destiny. Like I said earlier in my campaign, minority sports need to understand and embrace enterprise and activism in order to succeed.

If you want to know what my politics are, well then they are as follows. I am a Conservative Party member, I embrace free markets, capitalism and equality of wealth. Supporting small governments for localism based needs. Championing creativity and innovation, critical thinking for challenging opposition and furthering prosperity with intellectual freedom. Follower of the works of Ayn Rand, Adam Smith, George Orwell and Aldous Huxley. My conservative beliefs are also compatible with my interests in the Commonwealth because I support the upholding of traditions, cultures and fabric that binds them together. I am also an autistic conservative, and I have used my autism and intellectual strengths to prove ways in which people need to embrace disability in a positive way. Just like I am getting people to embrace archery in a positive way.

After a year of circulating my petition I turned my attention to getting my political friends on the campaign. Among them are Conservative MPs, Scottish MSPs who were supporters of the Glasgow 2014 CWG, Commonwealth nation MPs from Canada and Australia, members of the London Assembly. In April 2017 I turned my petition in and decided to try and get it through the CGF’s board members and president when I failed to get in touch with them directly. At the moment I am waiting for a call back from my friends to make my case to the sports minister.

One of the joys of campaigning is democracy at work, for it requires responsibility of the individual to take action. I alone have taken this responsibility for the archery community, but I need my followers to do so as well. Sharing the petition or chanting for change using social media hashtags isn’t enough, you have to try and push it through physically with the best your own abilities and limited resources. One thing from being a political activist is how people who want something from their government can be apathetic to politics. They want a productive and functioning establishment but they don’t actively partake in these actions. Well that kind of attitude won’t get you anywhere, you can pull your weight for your own side of the issue or you can just use resentment to make a fuss out of nothing like a professional sulking person. So here is what you can try, if you are willing to do anything at all…

  • Try writing to your own MP or local government and get them to use archery and other minority sports to tackle inactivity and lack of healthy living programmes.
  • Invite your local governors over to a try out session at a club to convince them to help invest in getting funding for the venue, club or the equipment.
  • Get the town councillors to feature a minority sport as part of a cultural celebration day. Such as a celebration of Robin Hood at a Nottingham Town event, or a lawn bowls game as an attraction at a horticultural festival.
  • On Commonwealth Day you could create a festival of minority sports that show a shared cultural heritage between your country and the rest of the Commonwealth. Archery for example has connections between Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, Britain, African nations, Indonesia and Brunei.

After all these posts about selling archery to generate interest in the support of getting it accepted as a Commonwealth core sport I hope this has given inspiration. Right now I need to focus on getting my archery campaign through to the Commonwealth Games Federation. But I can’t just sit back and expect any strokes of luck to come my way.  My followers, it is up to you to deliver something on your side of the campaign. I might have your signatures, but I also need action to be taken.

Leave a Reply

