Bagging it up for travel

I have a trip to Edinburgh taking place on Thursday and the trip is not without it’s organisational priorities. In the months leading up to the trip I started planning everything right down to the business of packing. But with packing the criteria isn’t always on the contents of the bag and what you might need in your destination and the route there. Consider the bag that you are going to be using. Is it a backpack, a holdall, a suitcase, a daypack or a travel wallet?

When I started to become an active train traveller I went out and bought myself a backpack from a sale online from Trespass. I choose them because the association that they had with the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow that year. The backpack I bought was a Scope 65 which was a two piece backpack: a 55 litre backpack with a 10 litre daypack attached to the front. At the time I thought about using it in the long term and what kind of situations that would make it useful. I could take it on location to a place faraway with the clothes, large items and wash bag in the main compartment and use the daypack to carry my other belongings and use it for travelling around the town at my destination. Also with 65 litres of space I could fill it up with more stuff on location in the event that I go shopping at my destination. That’s a good idea for some travellers but having a dual backpack can be a bit difficult to manage.

As I carried on using it I started to find myself being burdened with a backpack that was too big for it’s purpose. Of all the adventures that I went on I always had more than enough room in it for travels that never really came. The Scope 65 didn’t have much practical use at the destinations that I travelled to and the way the large 55 litre bag had been constructed it looked like a holdall on the inside with no dividing compartments. Now I think the time has come for me to find a new backpack. But being the fussy shopped that I am, which one?

Let’s get ahead with some basic considerations for a travelling bag. Don’t think big is best for everything. The general rule of bag sizes is as follows: 60 litres works best if you are a hiker in the mountains and valleys, 40 is for weekend trips and short holidays, 30 litres is for day trips and 20 litres is for daypacks and walking around the town. Also the bag does not need to be a backpack all the time. In some cases they can be a holdall or a messenger bag. If I was travelling somewhere for a day with a large backpack and then got to my hotel to unpack I wouldn’t want to use it to go on a walkabout around the town for visiting the tourist attractions. Check Amazon’s backpack guide.

I am currently looking for a small holdall to complement my archery backpack so that I can carry a supply of food, tools, clothes and outdoor gear for trips to the shooting field. A holdall can be useful to mix and match if you are carrying too much that you have to have a large backpack. Use a holdall for your clothes, towels, toiletries, electronic gadgets, and other large items and use a small backpack for the journey there for your travel essentials like food, drink, tablet, books and small gadgets.

Whatever your travelling destination and adventures be sure to consider the type of bag you will be using as well as the stuff you carry. It is up to you to decide how to go about your business or leisure.

Leave a Reply

