Labour Exchange to Clerical Computers

Yesterday I went to sign on and I got talking to a disability advisor at my meeting. This meeting was part of me having my progress checked over and seeing what I was doing and what services they could provide for me. I told them about my interview at Royal Holloway on Saturday and that I was looking for another opportunity to get into work. Whilst I was waiting for that I also thought about how I could use my current qualifications to get into a field connected to Earth Science. I thought a good idea would be for me to ask for some kind of placement in the Civil Service or Havering Council working in conservation, environment or energy services.

Why did I not think of this kind of idea before and what could the jobcentre provide. Well damn near sod all. It seems that the problem with jobcentres is that they are full of pen pushing, clerical staff who just process benefit claims and advisory services for benefits and pensions. Why can’t they be more inspiration for aspirational people?

We often hear stories from people about how they are pressured by the jobcentre to find work or have their benefits cut, specifically by leftist social justice warriors who claim that the government is harsh towards the claimants and the poor. Film director Ken Loach’s recent film I, Daniel Blake tells the story of benefit claimant who is too ill to work and it shows some of the flaws in the benefit system where it shows the welfare office in a heartless manner towards Blake. I have a disability myself but I am not of the kind who is too ill to work. I have aspirations to go out and be something not remain idle and stuck in a state of despair like a cabbage living out his life with hopeless dreams. It might be sensible to ask why have the Jobcentres of this country not got a sufficient service to inspire people to get into work?

When the Jobcentre first began in 1910 it was a Labour Exchange which provided listings of vacancies for workers to come and see where to find work and allow the unemployed to claim their benefits. Surprisingly these were more efficient in providing people with work because the country had an invested share in the industries and the bosses were expected to provide jobs to the communities as they were needed to keep the economy going. But nowadays there are no nationalised industries, the companies are privatised and have no responsibility to communities, and the schools of today don’t provide pupils with useful trades and skills that would allow them to go straight into work from school. Thanks to reforms of benefit and welfare systems the people can sign on and claim without planning or considering a proper career for themselves. In fact the jobcentres continue using an outdated method of operation for a society that they no longer belong to.

This explains why they don’t offer advice or direction to claimants teaching them how to get into the careers that they can achieve. I think of jobcentres as dreary depressing clerical offices run by people who don’t understand the aspirations of their claimants.

I think the best way to solve this crisis is for them to stop living in the past as quangos and start pushing themselves to collaborate with schools, businesses and careers officers to show people how to get into those fields. At the moment I am trying to understand where to get into the field of work that I can with my Open University certificates and skills and experience in Earth Science studies. What could I do right now in an Earth Sciences role in local government?

Leave a Reply

